Dueling Universe
Join Dueling Universe Academy....
Its currently growing up. Remember to be active.


Growing Academy- A place to learn,play,teach,test and enjoy. - Join now and be active
 
HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in
DUA is officially opened now for anyone who wants to join.

Share | 
 

 What do you do if....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JaliceDakari
Stardust Cyan
Stardust Cyan
avatar

Male Posts : 189
DUA Points : 1181
Reputation : 3
Age : 29
Join date : 2010-02-17
Location : San Antonio, Tx

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 1
Experience:
83/100  (83/100)
Win - Lose: 13 - 5

PostSubject: What do you do if....   Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:51 pm

I saw this question before and figured I would ask it here.

Say your opening hand is all Magic/Trap and one 1900 beater for a monster. Do you play the only monster you have or hold on to it a turn and hope to draw into a 2nd monster the next turn?


Stop here and answer the question





Now...lets reveal 3 of your 6 cards.

E-Hero Neos Alius X1
Torrential Tribute X1
Solidarity X1


Would you play your monster now? Would you wait a turn?



Stop and Answer here as well







Lets remove the blind spot in entirety and reveal what cards you have in the opening hand, and presume your next draw was indeed going to be another Magic/Trap before you draw into another monster.

E-Hero Neos Alius X1
Torrential Tribute X1
Solidarity X1
Call of the Haunted X1
Threatening Roar X1
Hero Blast X1


Now knowing your complete Line up; Would you feel better about playing your only monster to stall a turn or two?

Reason to ask such question's like I did is to simply judge ones instinct and what he/she would do in a similar situations. Obviously seeing the whole hand..you could stall for a few turns without much issue. The factor being judged here is...how much information do you require to preempt a decision with your hand.

Ideally you should be able to make a choice even knowing only one card in your hand, but by the 2nd point knowing 3 cards..you should have enough info to make a astute choice for that time.

In general..this is a very simply exersize, and is simply done to make you think.

If you want to post your answers to the questions when first reading this; go ahead.
Back to top Go down
Tino The Sinner
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Male Posts : 210
DUA Points : 1024
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2010-03-26
Location : U.S.A.

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 2
Experience:
53/110  (53/110)
Win - Lose: 25 - 8

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:22 pm

1st question, it depends on what the opponent is playing, but I would usually play it because even if i only have one monster in hand, Im pretty sure I will get more soon, because in every deck I play at least 18 monsters and 1900 is hard to get over it.

2nd question, I would still play it, torrential can protect you if your opponent gets something big on his side of the field activate torrential, and if your monster gets destroyed, that makes solidarity playable

3rd question, it doesnt matter if it gets destroyed because you can always revive it or activate hero blast and return it to your hand.
Back to top Go down
Fox1987GW
Blackrose Violet
Blackrose Violet
avatar

Male Posts : 99
DUA Points : 333
Reputation : 1
Age : 30
Join date : 2010-03-25
Location : Belgium

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 2
Experience:
26/110  (26/110)
Win - Lose: 11 - 33

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:44 pm

1st Question depends on your hand really, if there would be nothing to protect it i would wait, depending the deck you are playing against

2nd Question I would still wait, but place torrential as only card on the field, if your opponent has a card to kill spells he will probally use it on this one card, if they don't you can use it.

3rd Question
now i would play it, with threathening roar you have a defense, if it gets killed you can get it back with call and hero blast, depending on the situation or use sollidarity, 2 options that can turn out well, if your opponent wastes any spell killing cards, that's possitive!
Back to top Go down
JaliceDakari
Stardust Cyan
Stardust Cyan
avatar

Male Posts : 189
DUA Points : 1181
Reputation : 3
Age : 29
Join date : 2010-02-17
Location : San Antonio, Tx

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 1
Experience:
83/100  (83/100)
Win - Lose: 13 - 5

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Thu Apr 22, 2010 1:08 am

Good answers.

You get mixed opinions though from questions like those. It does give a hint to a persons play style as well how you confront a situation.

Example- If two players have the exact same hands...both players may not play their hands the same way. Those little differences is what swings the balance in a game and can lead to either a win or a lose.
Back to top Go down
Scorpion67
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Male Posts : 686
DUA Points : 3739
Reputation : 9
Age : 31
Join date : 2010-02-16
Location : Montreal, Quebec Canada

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 4
Experience:
109/130  (109/130)
Win - Lose: 36- 6

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Thu Apr 22, 2010 1:59 am

Sory For The Late Reply i wasnt here this morning Razz

To answers your questions Jalice, OF COURSE I PLAY MY MONSTER WITH THE CARDS I HAVE. Now i will explain why. Lets take a look at the starting hand and anylize it

E-Hero Neos Alius X1 : your only monster right now, but the choice is not clear right now lets take a look of the support cards we have

Torrential Tribute X1 : just now i can answer that i will play my monste because if my monster gets desgtroyed i know i can use this trapo and maybe get a +1 advantage during my opponent second turn if he dont activae typhoon on it or if he try to play agressive

Solidarity X1 : to get the advantag eof this card i need a monster in the grave so lets sacrifice that neo alius right now to get powere up the next warriors comming

Call of the Haunted X1 : i can always bring him back if i really need him or i can just waith to have a better monster and get advantage of this card, but to activate it i need a monster in my grave yard " again "

Threatening Roar X1 : I have a card to protect him from being destroyed by batlle but with the support cards i have right now, i think my monster should be in the graveyard ot really be usefful to me

Hero Blast X1: Now here is the second real reason why you want him in your graveyard and not in your hand, another way to get a +1 card advantage

So seing the support i have , the best way to play your hand is to play your monster and once the monster hit your garave, you have lot of possibilitys for combos and counter actions. Thats only mi Opinion tho Razz

_________________
Albert Einstein Said "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."

Back to top Go down
JaliceDakari
Stardust Cyan
Stardust Cyan
avatar

Male Posts : 189
DUA Points : 1181
Reputation : 3
Age : 29
Join date : 2010-02-17
Location : San Antonio, Tx

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 1
Experience:
83/100  (83/100)
Win - Lose: 13 - 5

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:36 am

Good answers in theory.

Part of the question's were to see what you would do knowing X cards in your hand. Not knowing all cards in your hand; Since going from that..the play becomes obvious and the only difference in factors is the person's play style.

The principle behind how I asked them is for this reason.

To start you only know you have alius...the thought here is; do you play cautious or standard and simply play what you have at the time.


Next question show's your two support cards..but still no way to get your monster back..so does that entice you now to play him knowing what you have to fall back on do you still play cautious.

Last question reveals your entire hand and more less is ment to make you reflect on your choices and how did in hindsight. Since..as stated..the purpose of the test is to see your decision's with limited knowledge of what you have and how you play with the current circumstances.
Back to top Go down
Scorpion67
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Male Posts : 686
DUA Points : 3739
Reputation : 9
Age : 31
Join date : 2010-02-16
Location : Montreal, Quebec Canada

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 4
Experience:
109/130  (109/130)
Win - Lose: 36- 6

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:42 am

Damnh i lfunked the test cuz i misreaded the question.
Have pity of this lame student teacher Razz

_________________
Albert Einstein Said "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."

Back to top Go down
JaliceDakari
Stardust Cyan
Stardust Cyan
avatar

Male Posts : 189
DUA Points : 1181
Reputation : 3
Age : 29
Join date : 2010-02-17
Location : San Antonio, Tx

Duelist Information
Duelist Level: 1
Experience:
83/100  (83/100)
Win - Lose: 13 - 5

PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:02 am

Scorpion67 wrote:
Damnh i lfunked the test cuz i misreaded the question.
Have pity of this lame student teacher Razz


Your forgiven, All I ask Is you forgive my money Debt.

Blame Godzilla...not me-.-
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: What do you do if....   

Back to top Go down
 
What do you do if....
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Dueling Universe :: Downtown Domino :: Official Center-
Jump to: